SANA logoET european solidarity corps LOGO CMYK 01

Projekti „Vabatahtlikud Valgamaa noorsootöös“ toetab SA Archimedese noorteagentuur Euroopa Solidaarsuskorpuse programmist.

Finally set free from my isolation I was allowed to go outside again, meet people and return to the youth center!

Actually, I didn’t really spend a lot of time in the youth centre, but time outside was also wonderful, enjoying the many lakes of Southern Estonia and plenty of sunshine.

My first day back to work was already an adventure: the youngsters had planned to go go-karting at a place near Tartu. I have never done it before, but it seemed safer than driving the atvs (which we did back in January), so I gave it a shot. Of course I wasn’t the fastest of them, but I am proud to say that I wasn’t the slowest driver either! Afterwards we made a stop at McDonalds, only then the virus-situation came back into my mind. Here in Estonia, especially in Valga municipality there haven’t really been many cases and restrictions are being eased more and more, so it’s easy to forget sometimes that Corona is a thing.

On the next weekend I embarked on a road trip! I rented a car, and we started driving towards the sea. Our destination was Saaremaa, the biggest island in Estonia. Highlights of the road trip include blasting ABBA, hiking through the very low sea to visit an almost empty island, drinking out of a well, seeing many many windmills, camping right by the sea and going for tons of swims. After one friend had to leave us in Kuressaare (the only city on the island), our journey continued on to Hiiumaa, the second biggest island. There we slept in a hut in the forest, visited a questionable adventure-park, climbed up a lighthouse and went to sauna. It showed me again, how lucky I am to have been able to come back to Estonia, spending time in nature, with volunteer friends and exploring different places makes me so happy and grateful. 

windmill

Saarema is famous for the windmills

meteoritecrater